May 5 – 10, 2019
Europe/Berlin timezone

Modeling hybrid plasma accelerator experiments with PIConGPU

May 9, 2019, 11:30 AM
Main Hall (MedILS)

Main Hall


Oral Contribution Theory and computation


Mr Richard Pausch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Utilizing laser-wakefield accelerated (LWFA) electrons to drive a
plasma-wakefield accelerator (PWFA) holds great promise for realizing
centimeter-scale electron accelerators providing ultra-high brightness
beams. Recent experiments at HZDR could demonstrate for the first time
such an electron acceleration in a nonlinear PWFA plasma wakefield. For
driving this compact hybrid accelerator setup, high-charge electron
bunches from LWFA self-truncated ionization injection were used.

In this talk, we present recent results of the accompanying simulation
campaign performed with the 3D3V particle-in-cell code PIConGPU. These
simulations model the geometry, density distributions, laser modes, and
gas dopings as determined in the experiments. The simulation conditions
resemble the experiment to a very high degree and thus provide good
comparability between experiment and simulation. Additionally, the
wealth of information provided by the in-situ data analysis of PIConGPU
provides insight into the plasma dynamics, otherwise inaccessible in

From an algorithmic and computational perspective, we modeled the hybrid
accelerator from start to end in a single simulation scenario. We
discuss the associated challenges in maintaining numerical stability and
experimental comparability of these long-duration simulations.

Working group Theory and computation

Primary author

Mr Richard Pausch (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)


Dr Alexander Debus (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Marco Garten (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Axel Huebl (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Dr Klaus Steiniger (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr René Widera (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Thomas Kurz (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mrs Susanne Schoebel (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Yen-Yu Chang (Helmholtz Zentrum Rossendorf Dresden) Dr Jurjen Couperus Cabadağ (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Alexander Köhler (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Omid Zarini (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Mr Thomas Heinemann (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY; Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, Department of Physics, University of Strathclyde) Dr Alberto Martinez de la Ossa (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Dr Arie Irman (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Prof. Ulrich Schramm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf) Dr Michael Bussmann (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.