May 5 – 10, 2019
Europe/Berlin timezone

Student Grants & Thesis Prize

Student Grants

A limited number of grants are available, which offer free accommodation in shared rooms at MedILS. Applications are open to Master and PhD students, as well as young Postdocs (even though preference is given to students). To apply please use the registration form.

Photo of a shared student room at MedILS.

The deadline for student grant applications is February 15, 2019. All applicants will be notified shortly later about the status of their application. Students not selected will be provided with further information on affordable accommodation. 

For the grant application, students are required to provide information regarding their current status (year of Master/PhD) and research interests. Furthermore, they should state their motivation to join LPAW and explain why they feel that they should be selected for a student grant. These statements are informal and should remain below 150 words each.

The selected grant holders are expected to contribute a poster or talk to the meeting. While LPAW focuses on laser-plasma research, the students will also have the opportunity to meet representatives from industry companies during a meet-the-industry event.


John Dawson Thesis Prize

The John Dawson Thesis Prize is awarded on a biennial basis to the best PhD thesis in the area of plasma accelerators driven by laser and/or particle beams. The prize will be awarded for fundamental (theoretical and/or experimental) and/or applied aspects.

Each prize winner will receive a certificate of merit, 1000 Euros and financial support to attend the Laser and Plasma Accelerators Workshop where the prize will be awarded. In 2019, the Laser and Plasma Accelerators Workshop will be held in Split, Croatia in May 2019.

The prizes are nominated on the basis of recommendation from one of the PhD thesis examiners. The letters of recommendation should be written in English, and submitted electronically in pdf-format. In addition the nominated student's supervisor must send a letter containing a one page CV, a short summary of the achievements reported in the nominated thesis together with a list of associated publications and reasons why the thesis is particularly deserving of the appropriate thesis prize. All these documents have to be sent as single pdf-document, non-completed nominations will not be considered.

Eligible candidates for the 2019 edition of the John Dawson Prize are those who have defended their PhD thesis during 2017 or 2018.

All nominations should be submitted to the John Dawson Thesis Prize Committee before March 25, 2019 to the email address:

The 2019 John Dawson Thesis Prize Committee members are: C. Joshi (ULCA), V. Malka (LOA/WIS), Z. Najmudin (IC), C. H. Nam (CoReLS/IBS), U. Schramm (HZDR), C. Schroeder (LBNL), and L. Silva (IST).